Return to vespa piaggio 100mm rear clutch/driven pulley assembly for VARIATED setups
 :
page of 1


  1 taco eaters like this review
 
1 of 5 What i got was bent or just poorly made idk February 13, 2018
taco eater : Alan from Washington, DC United States  
using CNC'd aluminum bell and the 108mm plates. only using for clutch because tunable springs.

The bell was oiled as they say but only that. The clutch pads are fancy newer material and not that metal reinforced asbestos stuff.

The outer seal was all dickered. Whatever Italian child or misaligned machine really biffed that seal. Took it out and reseated it. It's better but still binds the clutch a bit. at least it idles now.

I don't know if it's bent or what, but there is what one could argue to be an unacceptable amount of runout. Took the bell off and it is very easy to see the runout when spinning the wheel. wobbley wobbley

I put about 50 miles on it and the pads never really got a chance to bed in completey. the top edge of the pad was engaging sooner.

Seemed ok at best on a mild setup. Ran on a higher powered setup caused far too much vibration and it concerned me. I would like my parts to last and not destroy themselves so I went back to the stock clutch.

Was this review helpful to you?

  1 taco eaters like this review
 
5 of 5 Spray this clutch with brake clean first August 7, 2017
taco eater : Ninja from New York, NY United States  
I didn’t need to swap my shoes on a few of the newer clutches I bought from Treats. I did however had to spray the whole clutch with brake clean. It’s a good thing the factory oils these clutches up, I’d rather have to bathe these bad boys in brake clean then have a rusty clutch arrive at my doorstep.

EDIT – (8.7.17) These goobs are putting these clutches on bikes other than Vespas and wonder why they keep exploding their bells. Long live the Rufus Reinforcement Ring! #RRR4Lyfe

Was this review helpful to you?

  0 taco eaters like this review
 
1 of 5 Make sure you wear a suit of armor July 14, 2017
taco eater : Ryan Nash from New Orleans, LA United States  
Don't buy this if you have a setup that is anything more than stock.  Used on a 60cc kit rode it 5ft and the clutch bell exploded.  It sent shrapnel into my tank (huge hole), dented the hell out of my pipe and destroyed my variator.

Was this review helpful to you?

  0 taco eaters like this review
 
3 of 5 maybe I got a dud September 24, 2016
taco eater : JensAroo from San Francisco, CA  
definitely saw a performance improvement especially with malossi clutch springs (i went yellow).

but the variator bushing tolerance was off, causing the variator plate to stick or be very hard to variate. lapping seemed to help, but I wasnt able to get it dialed in before my bike was stolen.

Was this review helpful to you?

  0 taco eaters like this review
 
5 of 5 Starter shoes July 27, 2014
taco eater : Hugh Goldspiel from San Jose , CA United States  
I put a malossi spring in with out the thin cup washer. One end of the spring was tighter than the other because of the tab wasn't super exact shape, so I played with it and both tabs sat perfectly into the holes! Outer diameter of the pulley seems bigger than stock, and come with much better quality shoes.Take the starter clutch shoes off, sand them smooth, then flip them around they come installed backwards for some reason.. UPDATE- do not put any oil or grease at all on the starter clutch side, and invest in a good grease for the bearings so it won't splash up on the starter shoe surface. Also this item needs a ton of break in to ride properly. It takes a mihunte to seat all the shoes in properly. Also to prevent clutch dragging at idle you need the variated euro clutch smaller shoe springs as well. This is a much better clutch than the older Versions. With this you feel the power band way more, and need to lighten your weights as well..

Was this review helpful to you?

  0 taco eaters like this review
 
5 of 5 This is a solid build assembly August 4, 2013
taco eater : big nose  
This is a rad clutch assembly.

The only thing is that you can only use the spring that it comes with! The spring it comes with is tapered on the end toward the clutch, making it imcompatible with the malossi springs (yellow one). THe only way I could see a malossi spring would fit if the the space were grinded out a bit to fit a uniform shaped spring it in it, other than that Im not sure

Was this review helpful to you?

  1 taco eaters like this review
 
5 of 5 Rad! March 9, 2012
taco eater : Tommy Rollek from Charlotte, NC United States  
Start off by flipping the starter shoes in this thing, super easy to do, only need to remove a circlip.  Mine came reversed... Kick start maybe?

The clutch is super solid construction.  Twice as much friction material surface area than stock.  Love it!

Was this review helpful to you?

  0 taco eaters like this review
 
5 of 5 update... November 25, 2011
taco eater : ciao-zilla from your house...  
been beating it up, on my 65cc kit ciao for a while now, leaving it in the rain, pretty much shitting all over it. it's good. still works great. starter clutch is a little weird, but it can be messt with. really good moped part.

Was this review helpful to you?

  0 taco eaters like this review
 
4 of 5 where are pics and details? October 22, 2011
taco eater : Tick from SE MI  
ramp plates and contra spring included? can't tell. how is the clutch different? is it equally useable on vespa and kinetic? want see more, plz.

Was this review helpful to you?

  0 taco eaters like this review
 
5 of 5 best clutch on anything ever. September 22, 2010
taco eater : tim ostrom from savannah, GA United States  
sometimes you gotta flip the starter clutch shoes to get it to work. the main shoes take up the whole circumference of the thing. way cooler and more solid than the old ones. the spring it comes with is pretty rad w/ my polini variator. i got mine from amsterdam when treats was out of stock. it freaked out customs and came w/ "homeland security" tape all over it.

Was this review helpful to you?