Return to 4 prong voltage regulator / rectifier
 :
page of 1


  0 taco eaters like this review
 
1 of 5 no bueno June 28, 2016
taco eater : some dude from Oakland, CA United States  
this is a HALF wave rectifier, meaning you get HALF of whatever AC goes in. in my case i got about 4volts dc output at idle. if you are like me, you probably want a FULL wave rectifier, in which case get the one with fins on the side, or pony up and get a trailtech. also, don't forget to float the AC light coil(no ground wire).

Was this review helpful to you?

  0 taco eaters like this review
 
5 of 5 My go to cheap reg/rec unit June 4, 2015
taco eater : Graham Motzing from Austin, TX United States  
It looks like there are two different versions of these, from what I can tell, but all the ones I have used (typically bare aluminum with no side fins) have AC on the diagonal poles. Looking at the connector with the tab on top, the lower left and upper right corners are AC floated from your coil.

The upper left and lower right are DC.

These units are real nice, they regulate at 13ish volts and rectifty to DC. You can frame ground off the DC or the AC or both. If you frame ground the AC they work half wave and if you float the AC they work full wave.

You can also use spade terminals to hook up to them, i've never found a source to buy the connector by itself, but I've never looked real hard.

This diagram shows it in 'half wave' mode:
http://i397.photobucket.com/albums/pp60/LynnEdwards_photo/Regulator1small.jpg

Was this review helpful to you?

  1 taco eaters like this review
 
3 of 5 Half-wave r/r for 50-110cc GY6 September 12, 2014
taco eater : Maci Dub from Dubvue, WA United States  
The box this r/r came in has a sticker that said www.idcusa.net 633779. If You go there and type in the part # you get this:
http://get2itparts.com/index.php?main_page=product_info&cPath=85_102600&products_id=633779

50-110cc half-wave rec, intended for bikes with center-tap coil, AC lighting, and DC to charge the battery for the starter. Pin 4 has continuity to the heat-sink casing (not designed for floating ground).  If You want full-wave with a floating ground get a better r/r, like the 125cc+ one with the fins on the sides:  http://get2itparts.com/index.php?main_page=product_info&cPath=85_102600&products_id=634626

More infos:
http://mastercircuits.blogspot.com/2011/06/half-wave-stator-to-full-wave.html

Was this review helpful to you?

  0 taco eaters like this review
 
1 of 5 DOA March 18, 2013
taco eater : Anonymous Person from Hamilton, ON Canada  
This one died when I tried using it, but I got a similar regulator at my local shop.

For the wiring diagram, look to this post for the GY6 regulator...
http://buggynews.com/blew-another-gy6-regulator-rectifier-t19227.html
Took me a while to figure it out, but it does the job when you get it right.

Was this review helpful to you?

  0 taco eaters like this review
 
5 of 5 Different now? December 8, 2012
taco eater : Evan Drew from Las Vegas, NV United States  
The one I got isn't wired the same as Jake's, it doesn't use a floating ground.
It didn't have fins on the sides either, so I guess it's not as heavy duty?
Anyways, here's how you wire it:
http://i824.photobucket.com/albums/zz168/usernameunavailable1/IMAG0366.jpg
You don't need to use a battery, you can use a big capacitor instead, just make sure it's rated for 16v or more.

Was this review helpful to you?

  3 taco eaters like this review
 
5 of 5 How to wire: October 11, 2011
taco eater : Jake from Riverside, CA United States  
Here's what the plug looks like:
http://i55.tinypic.com/2lnzfnt.jpg
And here's how to wire it.
http://i51.tinypic.com/144d5dx.jpg

Your AC + comes from the stator, your AC- goes right to the frame. You then have to run ALL your lighting wires to the DC+ and DC-. NO, Do not ground your headlight or taillight to the frame. ONLY to the rectifier.


Was this review helpful to you?

  1 taco eaters like this review
 
5 of 5 DC Sweetness August 17, 2011
taco eater : Jake from Riverside, CA  
Just wired this up to the Treats CDI on a ZA50. Also hooked up a small battery inline; runs an automotive HID and the Fixation LED tail light perfectly!

Was this review helpful to you?

  0 taco eaters like this review
 
3 of 5 for lifan / clone engines July 30, 2011
taco eater : bx from atop creature mountain  
this is basically for lifan / honda clone engines that already have the appropriate coil on the stator, plugs right into the wiring harness

Was this review helpful to you?

  0 taco eaters like this review
 
2 of 5 what prong does what? July 30, 2011
taco eater : hoov from baltimore, meowyland  
tried to make this work, can't seem to get it to regulate or rectify. im no electrical engineer, but i looked up how to use a diode tester to see what's what, and i can't get it. maybe someone else knows??

Was this review helpful to you?