Return to puch 70cc 45mm reed valve kit especiale
 :
page of 5
Click to see more items


  0 taco eaters like this review
 
5 of 5 BULLETPROOF December 19, 2021
taco eater : Z. Shizzburg from Somerville, MA United States  
Awesome kit, absolutely rips outta the box, and is so dang reliable. Just pick up some good quality wrist pins (that's the only thing that's killed one of mine), and install them right. Maybe snag the 16.3mm wider than stock small end bearing, its got the space for it so why not

Was this review helpful to you?

  0 taco eaters like this review
 
3 of 5 Piston Broke at 83 miles July 31, 2021
taco eater : Christian Liechty from WAUSEON, OH United States  
The three starts are tentative.  At 82 miles on a new odometer, and at about 35 MPH, the skirt of the piston below the intake window broke out, was digested and blown out in fragments and aluminum oxide, and the engine stopped (luckily) only two miles from home.  Amazingly, there was no scoring on cylinder walls or head.  I ordered an identical replacement piston, to see if this breakage was just a fluke or bad design and quality.  

Not long ago, a Treatland piston pin clip broke for no good reason, wiping out my then-new 70cc kit on a Tomos LX A35, destroying piston and cylinder...the works.  Somebody needs to put a little more thought and effort into giving us only the stuff that works and holds up.  I've been building, modifying, and maintaining a succession of these things for more than 60 years.  This is not installation error or user abuse.  If it is good stuff, I want it.  If it ain't, I don't.  :-)

Was this review helpful to you?

  0 taco eaters like this review
 
5 of 5 Sickk December 14, 2020
taco eater : Matthew Mulligan from terryville, CT United States  
Didn’t have the exhaust port clearance issue everyone else had. Maybe a new batch? My exhaust port was actually a bit higher than the piston at bdc and needed to be lowered.

Check my review on “puch 70cc absolute treat party supreme“ for other details.

Was this review helpful to you?

  2 taco eaters like this review
 
5 of 5 Something's changed November 18, 2017
taco eater : Wesley Brown from Austin, TX United States  
I ran 2 of these kits for over 1000 miles a piece with no issue but the last two I've bought have puked wrist pin clips into the cylinder.

I've checked positioning on both, maybe they're using new wrist pin clips now?

edit treats : nothing has changed at all! if the wrist pin clips are consistently causing you issues maybe try some of the malossi or polini ones.

edit wes: Just an update on this, I knew something had to be different between the previous builds I've  done and this one.  I looked through my orders and it ends up I used a wider needle bearing on the piston side.  

I ordered a 12 x 15 x 16.3 bearing and have been running this kit successfully for the past year.  Just a heads up that the piston opening for the connecting rod is wider than stock and as such, don't use either a stock bearing or the one that comes with a crank as it'll walk, unbalance your piston and you'll be puking piston rings for days.

Was this review helpful to you?

  0 taco eaters like this review
 
5 of 5 What size bolts for the intake? August 4, 2017
taco eater : Nicholas Colaianne from Grand Rapids, MI United States  
I wanna ride! but the metric bolts I had didn't fit...

Looks like a good quality casting, and went on nice and pretty.  My cali sidebleed doesn't fit perfectly but it's close.

Was this review helpful to you?

  1 taco eaters like this review
 
4 of 5 5 years strong July 26, 2017
taco eater : Ismael Canas from Imperial Beach, CA United States  
This is a really great kit to learn on. I've been running it since 2012. Made tons of mistakes, learned a lot, and it keeps on running. It's as close as you can get to seize-proof. Definitely convert the piston to run clip-less wrist pin clips, it takes maybe 2 minutes.

Current setup:
Vm20 170 & 17.5
Weak-ends pipe from 2012
Malossi 4 petal
Counter-sunk head @ 1mm squish
Treatmetric Clutch w/ light springs
Timed 18deg BTDC
16x40

Hits 60mph regularly, fastest was 63.7. Gearing better would help, but the low end is nice. Takes a little to get there but it's a heavy ass magnum.

Was this review helpful to you?

  0 taco eaters like this review
 
2 of 5 Echoing the same concern May 5, 2017
taco eater : Boogaloo from Omaha, NE  
These kits are great!... until you a circlip destroys your cylinder. Ive purchased two of these kits in the past year, both have blown up due to this malfunction. Definitely not user installation, both times, the clips were installed in the correct position. So yeah man, this obviously isn't a controlled issue. Maybe include some better clips? I dunno. Breathe in, Breathe out, throw in garbage.

Was this review helpful to you?

  1 taco eaters like this review
 
2 of 5 Blah February 22, 2017
taco eater : Tslaw from parma, OH United States  
Performed well for about 300 miles. Then a piece of the wristpin circlip gave way and destroyed everything in its path. Seems to be a common problem on this kit.

Edit treats : Sorry this is not a common issue with this kit anymore than it is with any cylinder kit.  As one of the better selling cylinders it might seem that this happens more often, but using the power of statistics I can tell you it does not. Every cylinder we sell has at some point thrown a circlip, it is just one of those things that happens. If you get scared by this just read up on the internet on how to prevent this from happening and put some solid time into making sure you have done your part to get the engine setup perfecto. There are many ways to ensure your piston will never lose a circlip.

Was this review helpful to you?

  0 taco eaters like this review
 
5 of 5 Il rate the casting September 10, 2016
taco eater : Countryobtunning from Princeton , MA United States  
The kit I received in the mail not the cleanest, it reminded me of an airsal, head mating surface was f*ck so had to use the o-ring head. Cylinder had some rust and piston / ring stain, My modern stock casing has larger/taller transfer ports. Personally I had a list of prep work but totally worth it for the price :)  Update: I once sold an a35 tomos with the same kit (smaller carb) & I know how powerful this kit is but h**ysh*t its that much powerful on an E50 ( MM can hold 47mph uphill with 16x40 this shit is the tits for real. The speed Scariest the shit out of me and the sound will scare everyone else. Paper shredding insanity highly satisfied

Was this review helpful to you?

  0 taco eaters like this review
 
5 of 5 Most reliable kit I've owned. August 7, 2016
taco eater : Anthony Gagnon from Medina, OH United States  
I've had this kit going on 4 years now and it's been on two bikes. 19phbg, estoril pipe, cdi, stuffy race crank, etc. This thing is a monster. Never fails to start. Never seized. Never leaves me wanting more. It is the alpha and the omega when it comes to bang for the buck Puch kits.

Was this review helpful to you?

   
  Click to see more items