Return to motobecane CDI ignition le partie
 :
page of 4
Click to see more items


  0 taco eaters like this review
 
I love it! February 3, 2019
taco eater : mike thompson from dunstable, MA United States  
I never leave reviews but this was the best thing I have ever bought. My Moby av7 was a boat anchor and this fixed it. Throws unreal spark. Easy to install. All the timing marks are already there. Bike starts right away and runs beautifully. I have only been running it a few weeks so I can't speak long term but so far I couldn't be happier

Was this review helpful to you?

  0 taco eaters like this review
 
Amazing for the price May 31, 2018
taco eater : Michael Malvo from Kirtland, OH United States  
Amazing for the price, take yer caliper or something strait, score the timing mark and time 1.2-1.4 mm before tdc and youre golden. No need for instructions, made my hands nice and tingly.

Was this review helpful to you?

  0 taco eaters like this review
 
Yes January 12, 2018
taco eater : Anonymous Person  
Seems to be a good kit so far.
Hols for mounting on to case are a bit big and not prescise
Shocks like a tazer and Sparks first turn of the crank runs a dream.

Question is the lighting circiut ac or DC as I need to find a voltage regulator

Was this review helpful to you?

  0 taco eaters like this review
 
...so far July 24, 2017
taco eater : Kenneth Hill from Arnold, MD United States  
It was super easy to set up and get timed, added a voltage reg. and powers all my lights/horn just fine.

Was this review helpful to you?

  3 taco eaters like this review
 
Running hot and lean May 11, 2017
taco eater : Graham Bramley from Carbrooke, Norfolk United Kingdom  
cdi fitted to std av10,
engine now running lean and very hot
Was OK on std points & coil

edit treats : you just need to properly jet and time the engine as we let you know by email and you will be all good!!!!! use a timing light to ensure perfection.

Your suggestions are logical and I have tried them but with no luck .
Removed CDI kit for now .
I will try again at later date , along with another customer UK having the same problem.

edit treats : If you are not having luck with timing and jetting then that is the problem.. not the cdi. get a micrometer and timing light and a larger range of jets and you'll be fine, like everyone else using this cdi. There is not a reason these work fine in the US and not in the UK, so keep at it and you will get it.

Refitted CDI kit with 74cc kit , larger jet and used woodruff key to lock timing . (pull start was moving it on shaft)
all good now , thanks for the above advice.

Was this review helpful to you?

  0 taco eaters like this review
 
Every run of these seem to get better. April 26, 2017
taco eater : Merlin from Camelot  
Timing marks and such are there and are in the correct position. I was mounting this on an av88 and had to open up the center to get it to sit on the crank case properly, I'm assuming that won't be the case on av7 and av10 cases. The coils and trigger are shrink wrapped and have a dab of rtv on all the solder joints. Bright lights, strong spark and no more novi woes.

Was this review helpful to you?

  4 taco eaters like this review
 
le exccelenteeee September 30, 2016
taco eater : Andy from Santa Cruz  
why mess with shitty puggy points when you can get this CDI kit? this kit is awesome.

line up a ruler from the woodruff slot to top of the flywheel, draw a line to mark your timing point, eyeball like 35* after the firing mark on the stator/or watch the piston and estimate like 1.2mm BTDC (seriously that piston stop with the MM marks would probably make this so much easier), bang the flywheel on with a rubber mallet, torque it down with a shaved stock flywheel nut (you will HAVE to shave the ridges on one side down for it to fit into the flywheel!!), wiring is just match the colors, ground the black wire coming off the stator, and tada! you're ripping. easy peasy.

yellow for lights, black from CDI goes to kill switch (works great with stock puggy killswitch), otherwise all other colors are just matchy matchy.

thanks treats!!!

Was this review helpful to you?

  1 taco eaters like this review
 
of THEE highest quality September 14, 2016
taco eater : J freshy from The Earls Clan  
The best upgrade for frenchies! No need for instructions, as green goes to green, red to red, orange to coil and blacks to ground and whatnot. yellow fer yer lights. Put the piston at top dead center, have your flywheel mark 17mm(i think) past the mark on your base plate and then torque it down and your timings set. COULDNT BE MORE SIMPLE. RIPS HARD. SHOCKS LIKEA TASER. stop peddling so much to start your bike.

Was this review helpful to you?

  0 taco eaters like this review
 
No instructions for mounting or wiring August 2, 2016
taco eater : Ken Oman from Bloomdale, OH United States  
The product looks very good, but that's all you get. No mounting instructions or wiring diagram at all! I've had to do my research and locate some wiring diagrams in order to install the unit. Some videos out there, but still no step by step instruction as to installation. If you are a Motobecane mechanic or familiar with CDI installations you probably will have no problems, but for the novice do your research first before attempting this modification.

Was this review helpful to you?

  0 taco eaters like this review
 
Had to modify, but great on a peugeot! March 15, 2016
taco eater : Josh Turner from Ladera Ranch, CA United States  
I love it, but the only problem is, even when paired with adapter plate, had to grind the little things sticking out on the side. Took like 10 seconds with a grinder.

Was this review helpful to you?

   
  Click to see more items