Return to motobecane CDI ignition le partie
 :
page of 5
Click to see more items


  0 taco eaters like this review
 
5 of 5 Easy install for newbs and works like a pro May 26, 2020
taco eater : Canada Eh Moped from Toronto, ON Canada  
So much easier to set the timing and get this thing going than fumbling with setting the points on the original Mobylette 6v system. Eliminate any issues and set yourself up for success with this. Everything is plug and play, make sure to get a voltage regulator (also plug and play). Big spark

Was this review helpful to you?

  0 taco eaters like this review
 
5 of 5 Le partie cdi works perfectly highly recommended May 21, 2020
taco eater : RICHARD CAMACHO from Union, NJ United States  
Great cdi finally got it to work after struggling to get my moby istarted highly recommended.

Was this review helpful to you?

  0 taco eaters like this review
 
5 of 5 Great Upgrade January 29, 2020
taco eater : Drew Gregory from Elkton, MD United States  
Great little package with everything you need to convert your old points into some nice modern CDI ignition. Super easy to install as well, but make sure you get those new allen bolts. Haven't tried it with the original bolts, but they're so cheap why chance it? Timing mark is right above the notch in the flywheel. I timed mine at 1.5mm on my 74cc av7 and it seems to work well. Make sure you get a regulator for the lighting coil! it's so powerful it'll blow those old bulbs right out!

Was this review helpful to you?

  0 taco eaters like this review
 
5 of 5 I love it! February 3, 2019
taco eater : mike thompson from dunstable, MA United States  
I never leave reviews but this was the best thing I have ever bought. My Moby av7 was a boat anchor and this fixed it. Throws unreal spark. Easy to install. All the timing marks are already there. Bike starts right away and runs beautifully. I have only been running it a few weeks so I can't speak long term but so far I couldn't be happier

Was this review helpful to you?

  0 taco eaters like this review
 
5 of 5 Amazing for the price May 31, 2018
taco eater : Michael Malvo from Kirtland, OH United States  
Amazing for the price, take yer caliper or something strait, score the timing mark and time 1.2-1.4 mm before tdc and youre golden. No need for instructions, made my hands nice and tingly.

Was this review helpful to you?

  0 taco eaters like this review
 
4 of 5 Yes January 12, 2018
taco eater : Anonymous Person  
Seems to be a good kit so far.
Hols for mounting on to case are a bit big and not prescise
Shocks like a tazer and Sparks first turn of the crank runs a dream.

Question is the lighting circiut ac or DC as I need to find a voltage regulator

Was this review helpful to you?

  0 taco eaters like this review
 
5 of 5 ...so far July 24, 2017
taco eater : Kenneth Hill from Arnold, MD United States  
It was super easy to set up and get timed, added a voltage reg. and powers all my lights/horn just fine.

Was this review helpful to you?

  3 taco eaters like this review
 
4 of 5 Running hot and lean May 11, 2017
taco eater : Graham Bramley from Carbrooke, Norfolk United Kingdom  
cdi fitted to std av10,
engine now running lean and very hot
Was OK on std points & coil

edit treats : you just need to properly jet and time the engine as we let you know by email and you will be all good!!!!! use a timing light to ensure perfection.

Your suggestions are logical and I have tried them but with no luck .
Removed CDI kit for now .
I will try again at later date , along with another customer UK having the same problem.

edit treats : If you are not having luck with timing and jetting then that is the problem.. not the cdi. get a micrometer and timing light and a larger range of jets and you'll be fine, like everyone else using this cdi. There is not a reason these work fine in the US and not in the UK, so keep at it and you will get it.

Refitted CDI kit with 74cc kit , larger jet and used woodruff key to lock timing . (pull start was moving it on shaft)
all good now , thanks for the above advice.

Was this review helpful to you?

  0 taco eaters like this review
 
5 of 5 Every run of these seem to get better. April 26, 2017
taco eater : Merlin from Camelot  
Timing marks and such are there and are in the correct position. I was mounting this on an av88 and had to open up the center to get it to sit on the crank case properly, I'm assuming that won't be the case on av7 and av10 cases. The coils and trigger are shrink wrapped and have a dab of rtv on all the solder joints. Bright lights, strong spark and no more novi woes.

Was this review helpful to you?

  4 taco eaters like this review
 
5 of 5 le exccelenteeee September 30, 2016
taco eater : Andy from Santa Cruz  
why mess with shitty puggy points when you can get this CDI kit? this kit is awesome.

line up a ruler from the woodruff slot to top of the flywheel, draw a line to mark your timing point, eyeball like 35* after the firing mark on the stator/or watch the piston and estimate like 1.2mm BTDC (seriously that piston stop with the MM marks would probably make this so much easier), bang the flywheel on with a rubber mallet, torque it down with a shaved stock flywheel nut (you will HAVE to shave the ridges on one side down for it to fit into the flywheel!!), wiring is just match the colors, ground the black wire coming off the stator, and tada! you're ripping. easy peasy.

yellow for lights, black from CDI goes to kill switch (works great with stock puggy killswitch), otherwise all other colors are just matchy matchy.

thanks treats!!!

Was this review helpful to you?

   
  Click to see more items