Return to puch 70cc tccd cylinder kit - 45mm
 :
page of 1


  1 taco eaters like this review
 
As good as any Puch 45mm PP kit March 27, 2015
taco eater : Mark from Somerville, MA United States  
I tried out one of these a few years ago and had a bunch of problems with it, but was mistakenly sent one instead of the Kstar I ordered recently. The quality has improved a lot. No more incorrect deck height for starters, so no shimming required, no piston hitting the head. Also, these pistons used to come with a 2mm GI ring, which was a pain because you can't buy 2mm GI rings, and the replacement piston is $$$. But they come with standard 1.5mm rings now. The quality of the casting is really really good, didn't have to clean up anything. The high, full dome on the piston isn't compatible with heads for the other kits though (ala the 45mm high comp head, or a stock Puch head). You have to use the 45mm low compression head. You'll still be running about 180 psi though. With that head, a decent pipe, and a PHBG it'll rip as good as any.

Was this review helpful to you?

  0 taco eaters like this review
 
slow... September 3, 2013
taco eater : richard bach from indianapolis, IN United States  
Its slow iv had 60+mph e50s this kit is not it after porting i hit 52 n now its a wall hanger.  Comp only 2 weeks on the kit not happy wont buy again


Was this review helpful to you?

  0 taco eaters like this review
 
awesome kit, but where are the rings??? August 28, 2012
taco eater : Bradley Hale from Ypsilanti, MI United States  
this kit has been a reliable blaster and/or commuter for well over 1000 miles for me, but one day my ring just decided it had enough. no seize, ring's not broken, piston's fine. the ring's just worn down to where it doesn't have enough compression to fire.

i love this kit but it's really really REALLY freakin stupid i have to buy a whole damn piston now. I JUST NEED A RING.

Was this review helpful to you?

  0 taco eaters like this review
 
Dont do it August 24, 2012
taco eater : Matthew Davis from indianapolis, IN United States  
I have went trought two of these kits on my za50 and soft seized both of them. It just that the za50 needs more cooling fins to cool em down. Now my pops has this same kit on his e50 and it does great. its got alot of power but i suggest not to get it if you have a two speed. gila is deff the way to go.

Was this review helpful to you?

  0 taco eaters like this review
 
1st kit installed January 27, 2012
taco eater : Aiden Stefanson from Winnipeg, MB Canada  
Blasts super hard, have a 15mm bing with an estoril. Just be careful with your piston rings, you can only get piston/ring combos.

Was this review helpful to you?

  0 taco eaters like this review
 
1ST BUILD FOR A ROOKIE August 23, 2011
taco eater : brian schulz from cranston, RI United States  
After a few discussions with the trick or treater crew in CA, this kit was the one recommended to me that was robust and a bit forgiving for rookies.  I also purchased the hi hi head for this and a 20VM mikuni.  So during the build The piston could hit the head and/or spark plug.  I called for suggestions and they helped by saying I needed to get a thicker base gasket.  After getting the gasket material and hand cutting a new gasket I ventured to turn it over for the first time.  Started up first kick and at 10-15% throttle I was hitting 33 mph. it has so much more but I only have 50 miles on it.  BTW I did case match and be careful as you can get real close to the threaded areas in the case for the head studs. ALSO during the first 4 times I ventured out, when I came back to my garage, I had to keep retorquing the exhaust bolts down (6.5foot pounds) as there was a leak here. but this has now stopped and everything is running good.  Roger Roger!

Was this review helpful to you?

  0 taco eaters like this review
 
Some minor headaches August 19, 2011
taco eater : Mark from Somerville, MA  
I had an Alukit on my e50 with a stock head milled to 180psi. That head on this kit didn't work. Compression was way too high, and it hit the head and the plug. Got the Crazy Wayne head that's supposedly cut for this kit, and the compression's way too high and it's hitting something. When I've had it running right it definitely rips, but it's been a headache so far.

Was this review helpful to you?

  0 taco eaters like this review
 
Here's the deal May 30, 2011
taco eater : Maxwell Shapiro from Los Angeles, CA United States  
This is probably the best 70 kit for Puch... definitely the best piston port one. There was a time when everyone in LA had this on their bike (and everyone in SF had a Polini). It'll rock for a long long time BUT they all seem to hairline crack on the skirt eventually. You didn't mess it up... they all do that. (It will still run afterwards.)

Was this review helpful to you?

  0 taco eaters like this review
 
geeked. April 21, 2011
taco eater : dr. frankenmurray from a college town near a dirty river, MI  
i have this kit case matched to an E50 with an aluminum stuffed crank and a 19mm PHBG & proma circuit pipe, 18x36 gears. not even broken in yet and i'm already kinda scared of it.

don't be shy with the case match! those ports really are as gnarly as they look! cut that case deep! make sure you bevel out your case to accomodate that bottom angle a bit, too. you'll see.

Was this review helpful to you?