Return to motobecane malossi varplus variator kit
 :
page of 1


  0 taco eaters like this review
 
3 of 5 Great Product, crappy weights May 29, 2018
taco eater : andrew scouten from Toledo, OH United States  
I like this thing, its super nice to be able to keep your stock starter, and it does work very well once dialed in. BUT the weights! These things ate themselves in like 100 miles, which let me tell you, sucks! They where down and get smaller, small enough to roll out of their guides, which then allows them to wedge the plate open to far, sticking and smacking the vario into the pulley, so in short watch them weights

Was this review helpful to you?

  0 taco eaters like this review
 
5 of 5 cheaper than er3, more tunable than stock May 1, 2018
taco eater : Shane Johnson from Minneapolis, MN United States  
So this is a cheaper option than the er2 or er3 by doppler. You will have to remove the large back nut on the variator with some considerable force most times. You do have to be careful with this colliding with your pulley. Fix this by spacing your motor out further and running a longer belt. (ax31 instead of ax30 for example). Changing the weights changes the way the motor variates aka changes gears, it has little effect on how your clutch grabs. To change that, you will have to look into deleting your starter shoes, and either add a one way bearing to your pulley, or add a pull start. You can also tune/shave the clutch pads to delay clutch engagement/increase your clutch stall.

Was this review helpful to you?

  0 taco eaters like this review
 
5 of 5 Keep your clutch and gain your bottom end! January 19, 2018
taco eater : Ashley Ackley from minneapolis, MN United States  
Yeah, It is a pain in the bum to assemble, but you should be in there and cleaning it all for new parts anyway!

Yeah, it is hard to change the weights, but once you find the sweet spot you are done!

The weights that come with it are meh. I threw the lightest ones in there and it still grabs quickly. I am still trying to find a source for even lighter ones for my 74cc kit.

This looks dead stock for you sleeper and stocker peeps!

Be VERY aware of your clearances! I straight up milled a groove in this guy by the big pulley getting too close. It now feels like a freaking two speed at full variation.

I personally like this better than the ER3. I am not constantly tuning and changing parts on my ride, and I prefer the stock look.

Was this review helpful to you?

  0 taco eaters like this review
 
1 of 5 didn't work on a stock variator November 16, 2017
taco eater : contra from Brooklyn, NY United States  
The depth of this doesn't seem to be enough on the stock variator for a 50V. The cheek doesn't protrude enough to touch the belt at an idle position, so you can't even get it started. The belt just slips all over the place because the gap between the cheek and the belt exists.

Tried a wider belt with teeth, still no dice. I compared the stock cheek and this one on a table side by side and there is a noticeable difference, with this one being shorter. Not sure how everyone else made this work, maybe I just got a defective part :(

edit treats : there are hundreds of these out there in the US in use, so I think you just need to put some more work into getting it setup correctly and you will be good to go. I haven't even seen a defective one of these so I would say that is highly unlikely. I would ask around on moped army for some tips on setting it up as no one else has had an issue and this product has been here selling and being reviewed for 10 years now!

Was this review helpful to you?

  0 taco eaters like this review
 
5 of 5 much much nicer take off December 6, 2015
taco eater : blackumi from Moreno Valley, CA United States  
This is probably one of the best upgrades ever for a daily rider/ripper. Highly tuneable, the included weights and castings arent bad at all.

**REMEMBER THAT YOUR VARIATOR NUT IS A LEFT THREAD!!**

Was this review helpful to you?

  0 taco eaters like this review
 
4 of 5 Good upgrade for a a piped bike May 7, 2013
taco eater : Nate from Midland, MI United States  
Keeps my moby in the power band running a doppler pipe on a kitted av10. Switched to a 32.5 inch belt to avoid pulley collision, buff the plastic rollers and clean up the slots in the casting with some fine sandpaper to ensure they don't stick and go rip .

Was this review helpful to you?

  1 taco eaters like this review
 
5 of 5 This thing rips!!! December 5, 2012
taco eater : Adam Pereira from castro valley, CA United States  
OK...Aftermarket parts aren't all plug and play..this is a HIGHLY TUNABLE variator option for the stock moby clutch and cheek..much smoother acceleration with this as the ramps are sooo much better than the stocker....install was simple, getting the vario and clutch apart was a bear, but...hey...100% worth the time and effort.  I had a clearence issue at full variation...emery cloth and some balls took care of that and it's smooth as butta...av7..del 15.15 SHA, ported stock bore, free'd up blunderbuss...running half heavy and half light....may be able to go a bit lighter to get more lowend out of it and still fully variate...GET ONE!! THEY THE BOMB!!!

NEW INFO:  I was still experiencing pulley collision with a30 and 17320 belts(815mm) ...I went with a DAYCO 17325...it's 825mm...no more pulley collision. You will need to re-tune, as the engine spring tension will be less.

Was this review helpful to you?

  0 taco eaters like this review
 
3 of 5 one more thing... November 29, 2011
taco eater : mike boyd still in austin from San Diego, CA United States  
These weights aren't 16x13. They're a lot smaller, because if you use this with the stock inner variator cheek normal 16x13 weights won't fit w/o pushing the cheeks out. You need to switch out the stock inner cheek to fit normal sized weights. Also, these weights make a LOT of noise. FYI

Was this review helpful to you?

  0 taco eaters like this review
 
4 of 5 Don't hate on it. June 25, 2011
taco eater : Rocky Malin from Providence  
I like this thing. It's worth the money. It's not for a race bike but it's not race bike money.

Don't use the weights it comes with, buy better ones.

Was this review helpful to you?

  2 taco eaters like this review
 
3 of 5 Better variator, one problem April 28, 2011
taco eater : mikeboyd from austin  
Keep in mind that this is larger in diameter than the stock variator. This means it might grind against your pulley when fully variated. A stiffer spring can help solve this problem.

Was this review helpful to you?